Share This:

FRANK CLOUTIER, Public Relations Director
Call 989-775-4076 with any questions.

The Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribal Council Elect was sworn in today Tuesday, December 3, 2013, at the December General Council Meeting.

Judge Patrick Shannon administered the Oath of Office to each Tribal Council member and then opened the floor for nominations for Tribal Chief Steven Pego was voted in as the newly elected Chief of the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe.

Secret ballots were cast and the following individuals were elected for the following positions: Sub-Chief- Lorna Kahgegab Call; Treasurer - Shelly Bailey and SecretarySandra Sprague. These individuals make up the four positions of Executive Tribal Council. Ron Nelson, District II Representative, remains the Tribal Council Sergeant-AtArms and Jennifer Wassegijig was elected as Chaplain. Tim Davis, Chip Neyome, Michele Stanley-District III Representative, Lindy Hunt, Delmar Jackson and Julius Peters are the other elected Tribal Council members. These members will serve as Tribal Council until Tribal elections in the fall of 2015.

"It is truly an honor to be selected to serve as Tribal Chief for my Anishinaabe Tribal conununity. I will do everything in my power to ensure we all collectively work for what is in the best interest of the Tribe" stated Tribal Chief Steven Pego.

Please contact Frank 1. Cloutier, Public Relations Director, at (989) 775-4076 or at for more information on the event.