Share This:

Saginaw Chippewa membership to elect new Tribal Council on Nov. 8

Observer Staff

10/28/2005 12:00:00 AM

The Saginaw Chippewa membership-representing all three districts-will elect a new Tribal Council as eligible voters head to the polls Nov. 8.

Voting will take place from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Saginaw Chippewa Public Safety Building for District 1. A box for absentee ballots concerning District 3 (At-Large) will also be available at the Mt. Pleasant site. District 2 (Saganing) Tribal members will be able to cast their votes from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Saganing Outreach Center in Standish.

There are 810 registered voters for District 1; 41 in District 2 and 1,283 for District 3. Absentee ballots were mailed to those who requested them by certified mail on Nov. 1 and they must be returned to the Tribal Clerk's Office by 5 p.m. or to the District 1 polling station on Nov. 8 to be counted.

-When voting in person, one will need two pieces of identification with your photograph on them. One of these cards needs to be a state-issued identification card or driver's license. One must have the same address as the election rolls.

-Even if you did not vote in the primary election, you can still vote in the general election-as long as you were a registered voter before Oct. 7;

-No person, including any Tribal official, employee, candidate or representative shall be allowed to post, display or distribute any political material; solicit, persuade, intimidate or threaten a person to vote in a particular way; contact with any voter for valuable consideration to vote or refrain from voting; give, lend or promise valuable consideration for voting or refraining to vote.

-No loitering within 500 feet of any polling place .

-No direct or indirect threats or intimidation towards any election official, clerk or contracted official.

District 1 voters will be able to vote for up to 10 of the following 20 candidates (incumbents designated with an atresic:

Charmaine Benz*, Lorna Call, Federico Cantu Jr.*, Adelaide Davis, Raymond "Archie" Davis, Timothy Davis, Audrey Falcon*, Michael Floyd Sr.*, Lindy Hunt, Brent Jackson*, Darryl Jackson, Delmar Jackson Sr.*, Delores Jackson, Josephine Jackson, Maynard Kahgegab Jr., Jeanette Leaureaux, Ruth Moses*, Milton "Beaver" Pelcher, Diana Quigno-Grundahl* and Bernard Sprague*.

District 2 (Saganing) voters have one name on the ballot: Ronald Nelson.

District 3 (At-Large) voters have the following five candidates to choose from for one seat on Tribal Council: Frank Cloutier, Bonnie Ekdahl, Greg Falsetta, Damian Fisher and Michele Stanley*.

(Editor's note: The following candidates responded to the Tribal Observer's request for a personal profile on their Tribal Council aspirations. The prospective Tribal Council representatives were asked why they are running; what they hope to accomplish and how they feel they could make a difference while serving on Tribal Council. Of the seven District 1 candidates that did not respond, Timothy Davis said he would decline the opportunity to participate. Phone messages were left and/or personal contact was made with Lorna Call, Darryl Jackson, Delmar Jackson Sr., Maynard Kahgegab Jr., Milton "Beaver" Pelcher and Diana Quigno-Grundahl. With all respects to time considerations, personal health or other commitments, the Tribal Observer strived to make sure all were included in this special feature.)