Internet Explorer is no longer fully supported on Please use a newer browser for the best experience.

RezBall 2015 action heats up the court 8-12-15

Joseph V. Sowmick - August 13, 2015

In an effort to provide bonus coverage, Team Observer takes to the court with the Saginaw Chippewa Recreation Department for their annual three-on three double elimination basketball tournament held at the Tribal Operations parking lot on August 12.  The “RezBall 2015” event brought plenty of action both on and off the court as participants competed for trophies and Rez street cred. 


“We had four courts of action going for most of the afternoon,” Recreation Department Organized Sports Specialist Lindsey Sprague informs. “We appreciate the community coming out to support us and it was great to see the Tribal Ops employees and Tribal Council coming out to watch some of the competition.”


The official results of “RezBall 2015” are as follows:


Boys Division ages 13-15

1st Place Trophy Winners – Team M.P. (Caleb Vasquez, 15. Trey Wentworth, 15. David Isreal, 15.)

2nd Place Medal Winners – Team “Mid-Michigan White Boys” (Shane Jenkins, 13. Mason Wojtusik, 13. Alez Wetherbe, 12. Logan Chilman, 14.)


Girls Division

1st Place Trophy Winners – Team “Lady Eagles” (Jenna Rios, 12. Satori Griffin, 11. Madison Pelcher, 12.)

Girls Team was given 1st Place Trophies even though they were the only Girls Team to Register. And for hanging in there with the Boys teams during competition.


Boys Division ages 16-18

1st Place Trophy Winners – Team “Raw Dawgz” (Misheka Vasquez, 17. Grant Trepanier, 17. Tai Sprague, 17.)

2nd Place Medal Winners – Team “Swamp Boys” (Terrence Hunt, 17. Ethan Hunt, 18. Lenny Shomin, 16)


Men’s Division ages 19 and older

1st Place Trophy Winners – Team “Parks n’ Rec” (Kyle Shomin, 20. Walter Trepanier, 21. Trey Wemigwans, 19. Lucas Sprague.)

2nd Place Medal Winners – Team “Old Dudes” (Eric, 37. Charlie Isham, 41. Bear Raphael, 38. Kasiy, 24.)





Current Issue

April 2023

Bonus Coverage

View Bonus Coverage


Subscription Form (.pdf)