Share This:

Press Release: 2017 SCIT General Election Results
11/8/2017 8:10:00 AM - Public Relations


DATE: November 7, 2017

CONTACT:  ERIK RODRIGUEZ, Interim Public Relations Director

                        Call 989-775-4076


The Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribal community has elected its newest Tribal Council for the 2017-2019 term in the General Election held on November 7, 2017.  District 1 members had the opportunity to select ten representatives, District 2 members selected one representative, and District 3 also selected one representative.  Voter turnout for the 2017 General Election reached a combined 40.1%. Please see the attached results sheet for complete details on the 2017 Tribal Council General Election.


The Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe is comprised of three districts that account for the total registered voting membership of 2,371 out of a possible 2,756. District 1 is the Reservation in Isabella County and had 1,051 registered voters out of a possible 1,158 who were eligible to register.  District 2 is the Saganing Reservation in Arenac County that has 40 registered voters out of the 42 eligible to register.  District 3 is reflective of the remaining Tribal membership that lives outside either of the reservations boundaries. They account for the remaining 1,280 registered voters out of a possible 1,556 who were eligible to register.


The newly elected Tribal Council of twelve will be sworn in during the Tuesday, December 5, 2017 General Council Meeting. This schedule is preliminary, allowing for any election protest in accordance with Tribal Law. The Election Caucus Committee has reviewed and certified the results of the General Election for 2017.  By ordinance, any Tribal member can protest the results within 3 business days of the General Election with a protest deadline of Monday, November 13, 2017 by 5:00 p.m. By ordinance, any Tribal member can contest a ballot count within 7 business days of the General Election with a deadline of Friday, November 17, 2017 by 5:00 p.m. Tribal members must have registered and voted in the current election to file a protest or recount in the district in which they are a registered voter. The Caucus Committee has the right to review and determine whether another count is necessary.    


Please contact Erik Rodriguez, Interim Public Relations Director, at (989) 775-4076 or at for more information on the announcement.