Share This:

Press Release- SCIT General Election Results 2019
11/6/2019 8:19:00 AM - Public Relations


DATE: November 5, 2019

CONTACT:  Erik Rodriguez, Interim Public Relations Director

                        Call 989-775-4076


The Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribal community has elected its newest Tribal Council for the 2019-2021 term in the General Election held on November 5, 2019.  District 1 members had the opportunity to select ten representatives, District 2 members selected one representative and District 3 also selected one representative.  Voter turnout for the 2019 General Election reached a combined 40.5%. Please see the attached results sheet for complete details on the 2019 Tribal Council General Election.


The Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe is comprised of three districts that account for the total registered voting membership of 2,352 out of a possible 2,779 that had the ability to register to vote. District 1 is the Reservation in Isabella County and has 1,039 registered voters out of a possible 1,170 who were eligible to register.  District 2 is the Saganing Reservation in Arenac County that has 41 registered voters out of the 46 who were eligible to register.  Finally, District 3, or the At-Large district, are those members who are reflective of the remaining tribal membership that live outside either of the reservations boundaries and account for the remaining 1,272 registered voters out of a possible 1,563 who were eligible to register.


The newly elected Tribal Council of twelve will be sworn in during the Tuesday, December 3, 2019 General Council Meeting. This schedule is preliminary, allowing for any election protest in accordance with Tribal Law. The Election Caucus Committee has reviewed and certified the results of the General Election for 2019. 


By ordinance, any Tribal member can protest the results within 3 business days of the General Election with a protest deadline of Friday, November 8, 2019 by 5:00 p.m. By ordinance, any Tribal member can contest a ballot count within 7 calendar days of the General Election with a deadline of Tuesday, November 12, 2019 by 5:00 p.m. Tribal members must have registered and voted in the current election to file a protest or recount in the district in which they are a registered voter. The Caucus Committee has the right to review and determine whether another count is necessary.    


Please contact Erik Rodriguez, Interim Public Relations Director, at (989) 775-4076 or at for more information on the announcement.   



More Public Relations Articles